Dillon Cassar, Maria Cutajar win Eurosport BSJ Fleur-de-Lys 10k Road Running race

Mathew Xuereb, Charla Pia Vella win 5k distance

The Eurosport BSJ Fleur-de-Lys Road Running race brought to a close an active schedule of events for Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club.

The Club which has been organising sporting events for the past 25 years, attracted a good crowd of athletes who had the option of two distances to choose from.  The two-loop 10km course and the 5km course around Birkirkara and Mriehel outskirts.

The 10km race was won by Dillon Cassar who set a determined pace as soon as the race gun went off.  Cassar’s pace was such that enabled him to keep a comfortable distance between himself and second placed Aidan Tanti. Cassar finished the distance in 31:20. Tanti completed the course in 33:13, whilst Matthew Borg finished in third place in a time of 34:47.   Maria Cutajar took the honours in the females’ race, clocking a time of 45:33. Second placed Roberta Sciberras finished in 46:15, whilst third place Christiana Borg finished in 46:26.

Winners of the 5k distance were Gozitan athletes Matthew Xuereb and Charla Pia Vella. Xuereb took the lead to finish in 16:23, closely followed by Mario Grech who finished the race 9 seconds behind Xuereb. Nigel Puli, completed the men’s podium, finishing in a time of 16:57.   Charla Pia Vella was the first female to finish, in a time of 20:28. Veteran runner Carmen Hili was second to finish in 20:41, whilst Yasmine McGahern finished in third place in a time of 21:13.

Overall and Age Group Trophies were presented to the winners by Club President Ray Grech and representatives of Eurosport Malta who have been long standing supporters of the Club.

“We are pleased to conclude our year of events with the traditional Eurosport BSJ Fleur-de-Lys Races on Republic Day which has always been a firm favourite amongst many athletes. It was good to see some new faces too, so we look forward to welcoming them again at our events next year!” commented Euchar Camilleri, Secretary General, Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club.  “2022 has been a good year for the Club, this is thanks to all the athletes taking part in the events, our sponsors and partners and of course the Club officials who work so tirelessly to make our events special”

The Club thanked Eurosport Malta,LESA, Birkirkara Local Council, race officials and medical teams for their support.

Leave a comment

4 + 18 =