Kai Azzopardi, Danica Bonello Spiteri win National Sprint Triathlon Championships

Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club hosted the third race of the Go&Fun BSJ Sprint Triathlon Series which also doubled up as the National Sprint Triathlon Championships. 

Fifteen year old Kai Azzopardi today won his first senior Sprint Triathlon race and in doing so was one of the youngest ever triathletes to win a National Championship title. This result follows other titles that Azzopardi has under his belt this season, having won the National Duathlon and Aquathlon Championships earlier on this summer.

Being first out of the water Azzopardi gained a fourteen second advantage over title contender Keith Galea. Galea,  who usually has a strong bike segment, registered the fastest run segment of the day. However this was not enough to beat Azzopardi who finished the race in first place,  twenty four seconds ahead of Galea. 

Ryan Muscat who finished in third place also gave a good account of himself producing his best time for the summer. 

In the females’ Category, Danica Bonello Spiteri was the undisputed winner of the females’ category, added another title to the many she has accumulated over the years. Her finish time was the best registered for the season. 

Bonello Spiteri’s strong swim enabled her to gain a good advantage over second placed Krista Kuusijarvi, who registered the fastest bike and run segment of the day. 

In third place was Keira Attard. Attard had the second fastest swim behind Bonello Spiteri.  Attard has been consistently maintaining the third place on the podium throughout the summer. 


Trophies to the overall and Age Group winners were presented by Malta Triathlon Federation Board member John Vella at the end of the race.

Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club would like to that Go&Fun,  the Naxxar Local Council and the Malta Triathlon Federation for supporting this event.

The final race of the Go&Fun BSJ Sprint Triathlon Series will take place on Sunday 25th September in Salina.  Registration can be done online via this link – https://bsj.mt/event/2022-bsj-sprint-triathlon-series-race-4/

Go&Fun BSJ Sprint Triathlon Series (Race 3) and National Championship Results 





Kai Azzopardi (1:02:04)

Danica Bonello Spiteri (1:08:23)


Keith Galea (1:02:28)

Krista Kuusijarvi (1:09:39)


Ryan Muscat (1:04:57)

Keira Attard (1:17:56)


Age Group Trophies


Under 23

Sean Michael Darmanin

Debora Desira


Kristjan Briffa



Kevin Muscat

Suzanne Farrugia


Joe Cortis



Photo Credit: BSJ/Angie Conti

Leave a comment

three × two =