Luca Vella and Rossana Oddi win first race of the Garmin BSJ Open Water Swimming Championships

Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club hosted the first race of the 2024 Garmin BSJ Open Water Swimming Championships in Salina on Wednesday afternoon. The Championships consist of five races on a 2km distance and one 4km race.

Luca Vella, winner of last year’s championships, was the first to finish the 2km course. He was followed closely by Sam Camilleri, who finished just four seconds behind Vella. In third place was Liam Farrugia. While sea conditions vary from race to race, impacting performance, both Vella and Camilleri registered marked improvements from the previous year’s race.

The females’ race welcomed many new faces to the fold. Race winner Rossana Oddi secured a comfortable lead over second-placed Kaitlyn Muscat and third-placed Michela Camilleri. While the three females made their podium debut, Muscat and Camilleri had competed in last year’s championships, both showing significant improvements in their timings.

The second race of the championships will take place in Salina on Wednesday, 26th June at 18:30 hrs. Registrations are open online on the Club’s website –

In the meantime, the Club advised that registrations for its annual Garmin Malta – Gozo – Malta and Garmin Gozo – Malta Swimming Competitions are open and urged those planning to participate to register as soon as possible.

Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club thanked Garmin Malta for their support, as well as the Race and Club Officials present on the day.

The Championships are held under the auspices of the Aquatic Sports Association of Malta.

Leave a comment