BSJ Cyclists sweep MCF Individual Time Trial Podium

Birkirkara St. Joseph cyclists, Wayne Spiteri, Michelle Vella Wood and Shaun Galea swept the Malta Cycling Federation Individual Time Trial National Championships podium on Sunday 12th July when the local cycling season came to a close with the tough and challenging Mizieb Hill Climb, held in hot and humid conditions.  The National Individual Time Trial Championships consisted of three races – the first being held in Mtarfa and the second in Mriehel.

In the Elite Category the podium saw two Saints – Wayne Spiteri claiming the Championship title, having won two of the three races, thus cementing further his prowess in this category of racing.  Second placed in the championships was Christian Formosa (Team Greens), who gained his first podium place in these championships.  A fine showing from Steve Sciberras ensured him a place on the podium, where he garnered third place. 

Wayne Spiteri (Credit: Joe Bajada)

In the female’s category Michelle Vella Wood (Birkirkara St. Joseph) maintained her consistent streak to win all the three races in the series. Whilst Vella Wood did not have Marie Claire Aquilina to contend with in this particular race, Vella Wood still had to beat stiff competition from Stephanie Alden (The Cyclist CC) who took second place.  Third placed was  Agones SC’s Marion Pullicino. 

Michelle Vella Wood (Credit: Joe Bajada)

Young Shaun Galea grabbed the third title for Birkirkara St. Joseph when he took overall first place in the championships, having won the first two races and placed second in Mizieb.  Galea is a relatively new face on the scene but has shown talent and promise.  Mosta CC Kurt Muscat took first place in the race which enabled him to take second place in the overall classification.  Birkirkara St. Joseph’s Benjamin Crisp, another fresh face on the scene claimed the third place on the podium. 

Shaun Galea (Credit: Joe Bajada)

Leave a comment

fifteen + five =